Heart of Sarajevo for Best Feature Film for GREAT FREEDOM

Awards August 2021

Locarno Film Festival

Among the award-winners we count the following films by EAVE graduates:

  • BROTHERHOOD produced by EAVE graduates Pavla Janoušková Kubečková, co-producer: EAVE graduate Nadia Trevisan receives the Pardo d'Oro for best film in Concorso Cineasti del presente
  • NO ONE'S WITH THE CALVES by Sabrina Sarabi produced by EAVE graduate and German National Coordinator Jonas Weydemann received Best Actress award (Saskia Rosendahl)
  • EAVE and TTB project HOLY EMY produced by EAVE graduate Konstantinos Vassilaros and EAVE+ graduate Mathieu Bompoint received a special mention in the Swatch First Feature Award
  • HOW TO KILL A CLOUD, co-produced by EAVE graduate Ulrik Gutkin received Premio Zonta Club Locarno - for a film with the best expression of social commitment
  • EAVE project A THOUSAND FIRES produced by EAVE graduates Estelle Robin You, Palmyre Badinier, Joram Willink and May Odeh received the Marco Zucchi Award
  • JUJU STORIES produced by EAVE graduate Oge Obasi received the Boccalino d'oro Award for Best Film presented by the Independent Critics
  • HINTERLAND produced by EAVE graduate Olivier Neumann won the Locarno Piazza Grande Prix du public



  • FORGET THE OCEAN, WHY NOT TRY SURFING THESE INSANE RIVER WAVES by Marko Grba Singh, producer: EAVE graduate Dragana Jovovic of Non-Aligned Films, won the Eurimages Co-production Development Award presented at the CineLink Co-Production Market. The Jury consisting of Ada Solomon (Microfilm, RO), Yorgos Tsourgiannis (Horsefly Productions, GR) and Els Hendrix (DE) for Eurimages chose to reward “both the original take on the themes of enduring racism and xenophobia and the bold narrative approach – combining and challenging the format aspects of both documentary and fiction – to tell the timeless love story between Gordana and Mahinder”.


New Horizons International Film Festival

The Grand Prix of the New Horizons International Film Festival in Wroclaw was awarded to:

  • THEO AND THE METAMORPHOSIS by Damien Odoul, co-producer: EAVE graduate Dan Wechsler
  • FEATHERS by Omar El Zohairy, co-producers: EAVE graduates Derk-Jan Warrink, Verona Meier, EAVE+ graduate Giorgos Karnavas received a Honorable Mention.

Polish Days

  • WOMAN ON THE ROOF by Anna Jadowska, producers: EAVE graduates Maria Blicharska, Anna-Maria Kantarius received the Screen International Award and the No Problemo Music award
  • ROVING WOMAN by Michal Chmielewski, producer: PUENTES graduate Marta Lewandowska received the No Problemo Music award
  • Marta Szarzynska of Kinhouse Studio won the Polish Film Institute scholarship for the EAVE 2022 Producers Workshop as part of the New Horizons Studio+ program at the Polish New Horizons Festival.


Transilvania International Film Festival

  • OTTO THE BARBARIAN by Ruxandra Ghitescu, producer: EAVE graduate Iuliana Tarnovetchi won the Romanian Days Award for Best Feature Film at the Transilvania International Film Festival.


Sarajevo Film Festival

  • GREAT FREEDOM by Sebastian Meise, producer: EAVE graduate Oliver Neumann wins the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Feature Film and the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Actor
  • CELTS by Milica Tomovic, producer: EAVE graduate Vladimir Vasiljevic wins the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Director
  • LANDSCAPES OF RESISTANCE by Marta Popivoda, producer: EAVE graduate Dragana Jovovic wins the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Documentary
  • EAVE project LOOKING FOR VENERA by Norika Sefa, producer: EAVE graduate Besnik Krapi wins the Special Award for the Promotion of Gender Equality
  • GREAT FREEDOM by Sebastian Meise, producer: EAVE graduate Oliver Neumann wins the CICAE Award
  • MOON, 66 QUESTIONS by Jacqueline Lentzou, producer: EAVE+ graduate Fenia Cossovitsa wins the Cineuropa Award

CineLink Co-Production Market awards

  • HESITATION WOUND by Selman Nacar, co-producer: EAVE graduate Guillaume de Seille wins the Film Center Montenegro CineLink Award
  • A BALLAD by Aida Begic, producer: EAVE graduate Adis Djapo wins the TRT Award
  • EAVE project CITIZEN SAINT by Tinatin Kajrishvili, producers: EAVE graduates Denis Vaslin & Boris Chouchkov wins the CineLink Iridium Award
  • HOOKED by Adrian Sitaru, producer: EAVE graduate Anamaria Antoci wins the Croatian Audiovisual Center Drama Award
  • JINX created by Kristian Novak, Producer: EAVE graduate Danijel Pek wins the TV Drama Vision Pitch Award


Norwegian International Film Festival Haugesund

  • THE MAN WHO SOLD HIS SKIN by Kaouther Ben Hania, producers: EAVE graduates Annabella Nezri, Martin Hampel won the Andreas Award, the Ecumenical film prize at the Norwegian International Film Festival Haugesund.


Karlovy Vary International Film Festival

  • AS FAR AS I CAN WALK by Stefan Arsenijevic, producers: EAVE graduate Miroslav Mogorović, EAVE and TTB graduate  Gilles Chanial, EAVE+ graduates Borislav Chouchkov and Kestutis Drazdauskas wins the Crystal Globe at Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, Best Actor and Special Jury Mention for Cinematography, the Ecumenical jury award and the Europa Cinemas label award
  • EVERY SINGLE MINUTE by Erika Hnikova, producer: EAVE graduate Jiri Konecny wins Special Jury Prize
  • NÖ by Dietrich Brüggemann, producer: EAVE graduates Martin Heisler and Gabriele Simon wins Best Director
  • THE STAFFROOM by Sonja Tarokiv, producer: EAVE graduate, group leader and National Coordinator Croatia Ankica Juric Tilic wins Special Jury Mention and Ecumenical jury commendation
  • WARS by Nicolas Roy, producer: EAVE+ graduate Nicolas Comeau wins Best Actress
  • INTENSIVE LIFE UNIT by Adéla Komrzý, producer: EAVE graduate Pavla Kubečková wins Special Jury Mention and FEDEORA jury special mention
  • B’EST Project OTAR’S DEATH by Ioseb 'Soso' Bliadze, producer: B’EST and EAVE graduate Eva Blondiau wins the FEDEORA award

Eastern Promises

  • VICTIM by Michal Blasko, producer: EAVE graduate Pavla Januskova Kubeckova wins the Works in Progress TRT Award
  • A PIECE OF SKY by Michael Koch, produced by EAVE + graduate Christof Neracher wins the First Cut+ TRT Award
  • TINA & MEGI by Ioseb “Soso” Bliadze, producer: EAVE graduate Eva Blondiau wins the Works in Progress Karlovy Vary IFF Award
  • THE BOMBER by by Pauls Kesteris, producer: EAVE graduate Inese Boka-Grūbe wins the Works in Development - Connecting Cottbus Award
  • THE HATCHER by Grzegorz Molda, producer: EAVE graduate Izabela Igel wins the Sub-Ti Award



  • HIVE by Blerta Basholli, producer: EAVE graduate Valon Bajgora, co-producer: EAVE+ graduate Britta Rindelaub wins Best Balkan Feature Film and Annual Achievement Award
  • FULL MOON by Nermin Hamzagic, producer: EAVE graduate and National Coordinator Bosnia and Herzegovina Amra Baksic Camo & EAVE graduate Adis Djapo wins Best Balkan Actor (Alban Ukaj) and it is the FIPRESCI Winner of Balkan Competition

Page published 31 August 2021. Updated 1 September 2021.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away on March 3. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2022 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Web design by MID