4 awards for EAVE graduates in Sundance

Awards February 2020

American Academy Awards / The Oscars

  • JOJO RABBIT by Tika Waititi, producer: EAVE graduate Chelsea Winstanley won an Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay at this years’s American Academy Awards.


The Berlinale Co-Production Market awards:

  • THE LAST PARADISE ON EARTH by Sakaris Stora, producer: EAVE graduate Jon Hammer won the VFF Talent Highlight Award
  • ELECTRIC CHILD by Simon Jaquemet, producer: EAVE graduate Tolga Dilsiz received a Special Mention

Sundance Film Festival

EAVE graduates won four awards at the Sundance Film Festival:

  • YALDA, A NIGHT FOR FORGIVENESS by Massoud Bakhshi, producers: EAVE graduates Jacques Bidou, Marianne Dumoulin, co-producers: EAVE graduate Nicole Gerhards, EAVE+ graduate Alexander Dumreicher-Ivanceanu won the World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic
  • THIS IS NOT A BURIAL, IT'S A RESURRECTION by Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, producers: EAVE graduates Cait Pansegrouw, Elias Ribeiro won the World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Visionary Filmmaking
  • EPICENTRO by Hubert Sauper, producer: EAVE graduate Gabriele Kranzelbinder was awarded the World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary
  • ACASA, MY HOME by Radu Ciorniciuc, producer: EAVE graduate Monica Lazurean Gorgan won the World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Cinematography

Spanish Goya Awards

  • VIENDRA LE FEU by Oliver Laxe, co-produced by EAVE graduates Donato Rotunno and Elise André has won two awards at the Goyas, the Spanish Academy Awards: Best Female Newcomer (Benedicta Sánchez), and Best Cinematography (Mauro Herce)

British Academy Film Awards

  • JOJO RABBIT by Tika Waititi, producer: EAVE graduate Chelsea Winstanley won the Best Adapted Screenplay award at the British Academy Film Awards BAFTA.

Magritte Awards

  • DUELLES by Olivier Masset-Depasse, producer: EAVE graduate Jacques-Henri Bronckart is the great winner of the Magritte Awards, the Belgian Academy Awards, with 9 awards, including Best film and Best director
  • LOLA by Laurent Micheli, producers: EAVE graduates Benoit Roland, Sebastien Haguenauer won two awards (Best Production Design, Best Female Newcomer)
  • PUENTES project OUR MOTHERS by César Díaz, producer: EAVE graduate Delphine Schmit, Géraldine Sprimont won Best First Film.
  • SEULE À MON MARIAGE by Marta Bergman, producer: EAVE graduate Jean-Yves Roubin and EAVE graduate and Romanian National Coordinator Ada Solomon was awarded Best costumes
  • MON NOM EST CLITORIS by Daphné Leblond & Lisa Billuart Monet, producer: EAVE graduate Isabelle Truc won a Magritte for Best documentary
  • MATRIOCHKAS by Bérangère Mcneese, producer: EAVE graduate Julie Esparbes was awarded Best short film

Festival Premiers Plans d'Angers

Five awards for EAVE graduates at the Festival Premiers Plans d'Angers:

  • OVERSEAS by Sung-A Yoon, producer: EAVE graduate Isabelle Truc won Best Director
  • EAVE project PSYCHOBITCH by Martin Lund, producer: EAVE graduate Ruben Thorkildsen was awarded the Jeanne Moreau Audience Award
  • TWO OF US (DEUX) by Filippo Meneghetti, producer: EAVE graduate Donato Rotunno won the Prix du Public Jean-Claude Brialy and the Prix des Activités Sociales de l’Énergie
  • A WHITE, WHITE DAY by Hlynur Palmason, producer: EAVE graduate Anton Mani Svansson, co-producers: EAVE graduate Katrin Pors and PUENTES graduate Nima Yousefi, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin was awarded Best Actor


Four awards for EAVE graduates at the International Film Festival Rotterdam’s CineMart:

  • INFANTA by Natalia Garagiola, producer: PUENTES graduate Benjamin Domenech won the Eurimages Co-production Development Award
  • A SHADOW CREEPS IN SILVER TREES by John Trengove, producers: EAVE graduates Cait Pansegrouw, Elias Ribeiro received the Filmmore Post-production Award
  • ELECTRIC SLEEP by Zeynep Dadak, producer: EAVE+ graduate and group leader Titus Kreyenberg won the IFFR Pro Young Network Award
  • SLEEPWALKERS by Radu Jude, producer: EAVE graduate and Romanian National Coordinator Ada Solomon won the ArteKino International Prize

Lumières Awards

  • IT MUST BE HEAVEN by Elia Suleiman, producers: EAVE graduates Martin Hampel, Laurine Pelassy won Best International Co-Production at the French Lumières Awards.
  • ADULTS IN THE ROOM by Costa-Gravras, producer: EAVE graduate Alexandre Gavras won the Best Music Award

Austrian Film Awards

  • Four awards for JOY by Sudabeh Mortezai, producer: EAVE graduate Oliver Neumann at the Austrian Film Academy Awards. The film won Best Feature Film, Best Director, Best Script and Best Actress.
  • EARTH by Nikolaus Geyrhalter, producer: EAVE graduate and group leader Michael Kitzberger was awarded Best Documentary
  • GIPSY QUEEN by Hüseyin Tabak, producer: EAVE president Danny Krausz won Best Actor

Czech Film Critics’ Awards

  • OLD-TIMERS by Martin Dusek and Ondrej Provaznik, producer: EAVE graduate Jiri Konecny won the Czech Film Critics’ Awards for Best Film and Best Director.

Page published 29 February 2020.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away on March 3. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2020 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Web design by MID