MONOS wins big @TIFF

Awards June 2019

Transilvania International Film Festival

  • MONOS by Alejandro Landes, producer: PUENTES group leader Fernando Epstein scooped the Transilvania Trophy, the main award of the Transilvania Film Festival in Romania.
  • A WHITE, WHITE DAY by Hlynur Palmason, producer: EAVE graduate Anton Mani Svansson, co-producers: PUENTES graduates Kathrin Pors and Nima Yousefi, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin won the Best Acting Award (Ingvar E. Sigurdsson).
  • SYSTEM CRASHER by Nora Fingscheidt, producer: EAVE graduate, TTB group leader and German National Coordinator Jonas Weydemann won the Audience Award.
  • MONSTERS by Marius Olteanu, producer: EAVE graduate and Romanian National coordinator Ada Solomon received the Romanian Days: Best Debut Feature Award.
  • THE MOROMETE FAMILY 2 by Stere Gulea, producer: EAVE graduate Tudor Giurgiu won the Romanian Days Audience Award.

Ariel Awards

  • ROMA by Alfonso Cuaron, producer: PUENTES graduate Nicolas Celis Lopez, co-producer: Sandino Saravia Vinay took home ten of Mexico's most prestigious film awards, the Ariel Awards. The film won the Ariels for Best Film, Best Directing, Cinematography, Editing, Visual Effects, Special Effects, Original Score, Sound and Supporting Actress for Marina de Tavira.
  • EAVE project BIRDS OF PASSAGE by Ciro Guerra, Cristina Gallego, producer: EAVE graduate Katrin Pors, co-producers: EAVE graduate Dan Wechsler, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin, co-producer: EAVE graduate Sandino Saravia Vinay was awarded best Ibero-American picture.

Cabourg Film Festival

  • TOO LATE TO DIE YOUNG by Dominga Sotomayer, co-producer: EAVE graduate Stienette Bosklopper won the Grand Prix of the international competition at the Cabourg Film Festival
  • SYNONYMS by Nadav Lapid, co-producer: EAVE graduate Jonas Dornbach won the Prix Premier Rendez-Vous for the actor Tom Mercier
  • MANTA RAY Phuttiphong Aroonpheng, producer: EAVE graduate Philippe Avril received a Special Mention of the Youth Jury

Oslo Pix

  • SYSTEM CRASHER by Nora Fingscheidt, producer: EAVE graduate, TTB group leader and German National Coordinator Jonas Weydemann won the Grand Pix for Best Film in the international competition of the Oslo Pix Film Festival
  • TRANSNISTRA by Anna Eborn, producer: EAVE graduate David Herdies and EAVE participant Michael Krotkiewski was awarded the Grand Pix Nordic Documentary

Sheffield Doc Fest

  • ERDE by Nikolaus Geyrhalter, producer: EAVE graduate Michael Kitzberger won the International Award at the Sheffield Doc Fest.

Art Film Festival Kosice

  • MONOS by Alejandro Landes, producer: PUENTES group leader Fernando Epstein was awarded the Blue Angel for Best Film at the Art Film Festival Kosice
  • THE HUMORIST by Michail Idov, co-producers: EAVE graduate and Latvian National Coordinator Aija Berzina, B’EST graduate Alise Gelze won Best Actor (Alexey Agronovich)

Valletta Film Festival

  • OLEG by Juris Kursietis, producers: EAVE graduate and Latvian National Coordinator Aija Berzina, EAVE graduates Isabelle Truc and Guillaume de Seille, B’EST graduates Alise Gelze, Lukas Trimonis won the Best Fiction Feature Award at the first edition of the Cinema of Small Nations Competition of the Valletta Film Festival, Malta.

Zlin Film Fest

  • MY EXTRAORDINARY SUMMER WITH TESS by Steven Wouterlood, producer: EAVE graduate Joram Willink, co-producers: EAVE graduates Marcel Lenz, Guido Schwab won the Golden Slipper for Best Feature Film for Children at the Zlin Film Fest
  • EAVE project PSYCHOBITCH by Martin Lund, producer: EAVE graduate Ruben Thorkildsen was awarded the Main Prize of the Youth Jury for Best Feature Film for Youth.


  • BRUCE LEE AND THE OUTLAW by Joost Vandebrug, producer: EAVE and TTB graduate Raymond van der Kaaij won two awards (Best International Feature and Audience Award) at the International Human Rights Festival (FICDH) in Argentina.

Krakow Film Festival

  • FATHER by Marat Sargsyan, producer: EAVE graduate and Lithuanian National Coordinator Dagne Vildziunaite was awarded the SILVER by HORN Best Medium-Length Documentary and Best Cinematography (Linas Dabriska) at the Krakow Film Festival

Cinereach Producers Initiative

  • EAVE graduate Kishori Rajan has won the Producer Award, a filmmaking prize as part of the American Cinereach Producers Initiative. Kishori Rajan is a creative producer who develops work under her newly formed banner, Reverse Osmosis Films. She’s an executive producer of the HBO series “Random Acts of Flyness,” which was nominated for a Peabody Award and was recently renewed for a second season. Kishori has produced several feature films including the upcoming “The SHort History of the Long Road,” which played 2019’s Tribeca, “The Price” from Samuel Goldwyn Films, and “American Fable” from IFC Films. She’s a 2017 Cannes Producers Fellow, a 2017 Tribeca All Access grantee, and the first ever American producer to be selected for the EAVE European Producers Network.

Chinese FreshPitch

  • A JOURNEY BACK HOME by Yifan Sun, producer: TTB participant Joanna Tatko of Polish Staron Film has won the Bronze Medal at the Chinese FreshPitch in Kinshan for her documentary project.

Annecy International Animated Film Festival

  • THE KITE by Martin Smatana, producer: EAVE Marketing Workshop graduate Peter Badac received Young Audience Award.
  • WHEN I AM SAD by Lilit Altunyan, producer: EAVE graduate Armine Anda received FOLIMAGE Co-Production Award.

Page published 28 June 2019. Updated 21 November 2019.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away on March 3. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2020 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Web design by MID