Estonia hosts the second week of EAVE’s Producers Workshop

press release

Pärnu (Estonia) is the location of the second session of the EAVE Producers Workshop 2022 from June 10-17, bringing together 55 participants from 35 countries and 21 scriptwriters with a selection of 24 top industry experts.

The partners of this workshop are Estonian Film Institute and Estonian Ministry of Culture, and the week is organized in collaboration with Creative Europe MEDIA Desks Estonia and Latvia.

Workshop sessions & experts

Some highlights of the week: Shifting from Ego-Centric to Eco-Centric with Elli Toivoniemi (Tuffi Films, FI) and – contributing with special pre-recorded key notes – acclaimed Danish film director Phie Ambo and author, film-maker and academic Raj Patel (US).

Film funds and their role in the changing industry, on and off screen representation, healthy workplaces and the future of distribution are among the topics tackled in interactive Round tables by EAVE participants and experts, including guest expert Delyth Thomas (Call it! App, UK).

Participants focusing on career development will discuss their companies and careers in dedicated group sessions guided by Petri Kemppinen (Aurora Studios, FI). The participating writers will benefit from the insight of Estonian scriptwriters Andris Feldmanis and Livia Ulman in a plenary called How Many Writers Fit in a Room?

Other sessions include (A)symmetrical co-productions by EAVE Head of Studies Lise Lense-Møller (Magic Hour Films, DK) and EAVE Group Leader Ankica Jurić Tilić (Kinorama, HR), Lobbying Strategies for Producers by Lise Lense-Møller, Digital Marketing by EAVE Marketing Expert Sarah Calderon (The Film Agency, ES), Revenue Streams by EAVE Finance Expert Linda Beath and Legal Aspects of Co-production by EAVE Legal Expert Pierre-Emmanuel Mouthuy (Mouthuy Avocats, BE).

During 2 days, 30 producers from Estonia and Latvia will join the EAVE group for several sessions and networking. In addition, the local producers will benefit from tailor-made sessions on Company Development Policies and the Producer’s Role from Development to Audience.

Piret Tibbo-Hudgins (Estonian Film Institute), EAVE graduates Evelin Penttilä (Stellar, EE) and Guntis Trekteris (Ego Media, LV) will highlight the opportunities of Producing in and with the Baltics. The panel will be moderated by EAVE graduate Marge Liiske (Baltic Event, EE).

EAVE’s 2022 pedagogical core team includes EAVE Head of Studies Lise Lense-Møller (Magic Hour Films, DK), the four group leaders Ankica Jurić Tilić (Kinorama, HR), Michael Kitzberger (NGF Geyrhalterfilm, AT), Riina Sildos (Amrion, EE) and Jani Thiltges (Samsa Film, LU); the script consultants Jacques Akchoti (FR), Martin Daniel (USA), Clare Downs (UK), Nayeem Mahbub (SE), TV series consultant Ossi Nishri (IL), and documentary expert Sylvia Stevens (Faction Films, UK).

They are supported by the specialized experts for Pitching: Sibylle Kurz (DE), Finance: Linda Beath (Ideal Filmworks, IT), Marketing: Sarah Calderon (The Film Agency, ES) and Legal Issues: Pierre-Emmanuel Mouthuy (Mouthuy Avocats, BE).

EAVE is supported by the Creative Europe - MEDIA sub-programme of the European Union, Film Fund Luxembourg, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung, Centre National du Cinéma et de l’Image Animée, Fondo Audiovisivo Friuli Venezia Giulia, PACT – the Producers Alliance for Cinema and Television, the Polish Film Institute, Doha Film Institute, Telefilm Canada, SODEC, IDM Südtirol Alto Adige, Fonds Jeune Création Francophone, Projeto Paradiso, TRT - Turkish Radio and Television Corporation, VIPO | Visual Industry Promotion Organization, Berlinale Co-Production Market and the partners who have hosted the workshops since 1988.

Page published 9 June 2022.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away in 2016. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2024 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the MEDIA sub-programme of Creative Europe. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.
Web design by MID

Please indicate your consent to our use of performance cookies

Some cookies are required for our site to function. Optional cookies are used for measuring site performance with Google Analytics. Visit our privacy and legal page to find out more, and manage your consent at any time.