EAVE Newsflash – EAVE producers triumph at Sundance!

press release

We are proud to announce that EAVE graduates have been extremely successful at the this year`s Sundance Film Festival, taking home 8 main awards in the World Cinema category.

HIVE by Blerta Basholli is the first film in Sundance history to win all three main awards – the Grand Jury Prize, the Audience Award and the Directing Award – in the World Cinema Dramatic Competition.

World Cinema Dramatic

  • HIVE by Blerta Basholli, producer: EAVE graduate Valon Bajgora, EAVE+ graduate Britta Rindelaub, sales: LevelK wins World Cinema Audience Award, World Cinema Grand Jury Prize and Directing Award

  • LUZZU by Alex Camilleri, executive producer: EAVE graduate Pierre Ellul wins Jury Award for Acting

World Cinema Documentary

  • FLEE by Jonas Poher Rasmussen, producers: EAVE graduates Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen wins World Cinema Jury Prize

  • PRESIDENT by Camilla Nielsson, producer: EAVE graduate Signe Byrge Sørensen wins Special Jury Award in Verite Filmmaking

Short Film

  • THE CRIMINALS by Serhat Karaaslan, producer: EAVE graduate Laure Dahout wins Short Film Special Jury Award – Screenwriting

The Sundance Institute NHK Award has been given to:

  • MOTHERHOOD by Meryam Joobeur, producer: EAVE graduate Sara Ben Hassen, co-producer: EAVE graduate Khalid Maimouni


Page published 3 February 2021.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away in 2016. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2024 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the MEDIA sub-programme of Creative Europe. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.
Web design by MID

Please indicate your consent to our use of performance cookies

Some cookies are required for our site to function. Optional cookies are used for measuring site performance with Google Analytics. Visit our privacy and legal page to find out more, and manage your consent at any time.