6 Awards for EAVE graduates at WEMW When East meets West

Awards January 2023

Trieste Film Festival 

BUTTERFLY VISION by Maksim Nakonechnyi, co-producer: EAVE graduate Dagmar Sedlackova won the Cineuropa Award for best feature film in competition at the Trieste Film Festival.



These are the When East Meets West WEMW 2023 award winners:

  • The EAVE Producers Workshop 2024 Scholarship went to: Julia Sinkyevich | Ukraine, Poland 
  • 2M2 by Volkan Üce, producer: EAVE graduate Hans Everaert won the ArteVideo Co-Production Award
  • THE GANG by Carol Rodríguez Colás, producer: PUENTES graduate Maria Carla del Rio received the EWA Network’s I HAVE A DREAM Award for Equality & Inclusion
  • EAVE project FIUME O MORTE! by Igor Bezinović, produced by EAVE graduate Tibor Keser, Marina Gumzi, Elena Vera Tomasin won the Laser Film Award
  • MY MAGICAL WORLD by Elvin Adigozel, producer: EAVE participant Maria Ibrahimova received the TRT Award  
  • THE CHILD by Linda Olte, producer: EAVE graduate Roberto Cavallini, EAVE MW graduate Matiss Kaza won the Italy-Baltic Development Awards for Co-Production
  • WHEN THE KIDS SING THE HITS by Mina Djukic, producer: EAVE graduate and Serbian National Coordinator Milan Stojanovic received the RE-ACT Co-Development Award


Swedish Guldbaggen

EAVE graduates won 8 awards at the Swedish Guldbaggen:

  • TRIANGLE OF SADNESS by Ruben Östlund, co-producers: EAVE graduate and Greek National Coordinator Konstantinos Kontovrakis, EAVE+ graduate Giorgos Karnavas, EAVE graduates Danae Spathara, Per Damgaard Hansen, executive producer: EAVE graduate Dan Wechsler is dominating the Swedish Guldbaggen winning Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor and Best Actress in a Supporting Role, Best Costume Design and Best Makeup
  • BOY FROM HEAVEN by Tarik Saleh, producers: EAVE graduates Kristina Aberg, Mark Lwoff, Misha Jaari, Monica Hellström, Linda Mutawi, was awarded Best Screenplay
  • BLACK CRAB by Adam Berg, associate line producer: EAVE graduate Linda Mutawi won Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects, Best production Design


Lumières Awards

EAVE graduates scooped the main prices at the French Lumières Awards:

  • THE NIGHT OF THE 12TH by Dominik Moll, co-producer: EAVE graduate Jacques-Henri Bronckart won Best Film and Best Screenplay
  • PACIFICTION by Albert Serra, producer: EAVE graduate Dirk Decker was awarded Best Director and Best Actor (Benoît Magimel)


Golden Venla Awards

SUMMER OF SORROW by Jani Volanen, producer: EAVE graduate Tiina-Mari Pitkänen won the Golden Venla Award, the Finnish Television Award, for the best drama series. Director and scriptwriter Jani Volanen also won 2 personal prices (Best Script, Best Directing) and actress Laura Birn won the Best Supporting Actor Award.


Max Ophüls Festival Saarbrücken

Seven awards for EAVE graduates at the Max Ophüls Festival Saarbrücken:

  • BREAKING THE ICE by Clara Stern, producer: EAVE graduate Michael Kitzberger was awarded Best Script, the Award of the Youth Jury and the Award for the Best Socially Relevant Film.
  • EISMAYER by David Wagner, producers: EAVE graduates Arash T. Riahi, Sabine Gruber received the Critics’ Award and the Audience Award
  • SPRICH MIT MIR by Janin Halisch, co-producer: EAVE graduate Jamila Wenske won Best Newcomer Actress (Alina Stiegler)
  • FRANKY FIVE STAR by Birgit Möller, producer: EAVE graduate Jamila Wenske won the Award of the Ecumenical Jury


Tromsø international Film Festival

  • THE BLUE CAFTAN by Maryam Touzani, producers: EAVE graduate Kartin Pors, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin won the Don Quixote Prize at the Tromsø International Film Festival.
  • PACIFICTION by Albert Serra, co-producer: EAVE graduate Dirk Decker won the FIPRESCI Prize.


Ramdan Festival Tournai

Two awards for EAVE graduates at the Ramdan Festival Tournai:

  • A HOUSE MADE OF SPLINTERS by Simon Lereng Wilmont, producer: EAVE graduate Monica Hellström, co-producer: EAVE participant Darya Bassel won the Critics’ Award
  • THE BLUE CAFTAN by Maryam Touzani, producers: EAVE graduate Kartin Pors, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin won Best Fiction Film.


Swiss Solothurn Film Festival

AMINE – HELD AUF BEWÄHRUNG by Dani Heusser, producer: EAVE graduate Dario Schoch won the Audience Award at the Swiss Solothurn Film Festival.


ArteKino online Film Festival

SUMMER SURVIVORS by Marija Kavtaradze, producer: EAVE graduate Marija Razgutė won the Young Audience Award of the ArteKino online film festival.


Gaudí Awards

THE YELLOW CEILING by Isabel Coixet, producer: EAVE graduate Carla Sospedra won the Gaudí Prize for Best Documentary  

Page published 31 January 2023. Updated 24 March 2023.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away in 2016. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2024 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the MEDIA sub-programme of Creative Europe. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.
Web design by MID

Please indicate your consent to our use of performance cookies

Some cookies are required for our site to function. Optional cookies are used for measuring site performance with Google Analytics. Visit our privacy and legal page to find out more, and manage your consent at any time.