4 films by EAVE producers shortlisted for the Oscars

Nominations December 2019


The first Berlinale films have been announced: The list includes the first batch of titles in the Panorama section, which features ten European productions and three co-productions involving EU countries.


  • EXILE by Visar Morina, producer: EAVE graduate Jonas Dornbach, co-producer: EAVE+ graduate Jean-Yves Roubin
  • HOPE by Maria Sødahl, co-producer: EAVE graduate Lizette Jonjic
  • DIGGER by Georgis Grigorakis, producer: EAVE graduate Fenia Cossovitsa
  • IF IT WERE LOVE by Patric Chiha, producer: Interchange graduate Charlotte Vincent
  • PARI by Siamak Etemadi, producers: EAVE graduate Konstantinos Kontovrakis, EAVE+ graduate Giorgos Karnavas, co-producers: EAVE graduates Borislav Chouchkov, Laurette Schillings, Frans van Gestel, Dan Wechsler, PUENTES graduate Kostas Tagalakis
  • WILDLAND by Jeanette Nordahl, producers: EAVE graduate Katrin Pors, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin

Generation 14plus

  • POMPEI by Anna Falguères, John Shank, producer: EAVE graduate Valérie Bournonville

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

  • KIDS RUN by Barbara Ott, producer: EAVE graduate Martin Heisler
  • GARAGE PEOPLE by Natalija Yefimkina, producer: EAVE graduate Dirk Decker
  • WALCHENSEE FOREVER by Janna Ji Wonders, producer: EAVE graduate Martin Heisler

American Academy Awards / the Oscars

On the Shortlist for the 92nd Oscars are the following films by EAVE graduates:

Documentary Feature

  • AQUARELA by Victor Kossakovsky, producer: EAVE graduate Heino Deckert

Music (Original Score)

  • JOJO RABBIT by Tika Waititi, producer: EAVE graduate Chelsea Winstanley

International Feature Film

  • ATLANTICS by Mati Diop, producer: Interchange graduate Judith Lou Lévy, co-producer: EAVE+ graduate Jean-Yves Roubin
  • CORPUS CHRISTI by Jan Komasa, co-producer: EAVE graduate Patrice Nezan

Golden Globes

  • JOJO RABBIT by Tika Waititi, producer: EAVE graduate Chelsea Winstanley is nominated for the Golden Globes in two categories: Best Motion Picture and Best Actor.

European Film Academy

  • EAVE graduate and Romanian National Coordinator Ada Solomon was voted Deputy Chairwoman of the European Film Academy’s Board on the occasion of the European Film Awards meeting in Berlin. She will hold the position till 2021. Ada Solomon was awarded the European Co-Production Award 2019 – Prix Eurimages in 2013 and became a member of EFA’s board the same year. New Board member is the Polish EAVE graduate Joanna Szymanska.

European Shooting Stars

The European Film Promotion (EFP) announced the jury for the European Shooting Stars 2020. Among them:

  • TTB graduate Vesela Kazakova
  • EAVE graduate Katarina Krnacova

Spanish Goya Awards

  • THE ENDLESS TRENCH by Aitor Arregi, Jon Garaño, Jose Mari Goenaga, producer: EAVE graduate Olmo Figueredo González-Quevedo nominated in 13 categories: for Best Film, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best New Actor, Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, Best Director of Production, Best Editing, Best Original Score, Best Sound, Best Special Effects
  • INTEMPERIE by Benito Zambrano, co-producer: EAVE+ graduate Pandora Da Cunha Telles nominated for Best Film, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Supporting Actor, Best Director of Production
  • FIRE WILL COME by Oliver Laxe, co-produced by EAVE graduates Donato Rotunno and Elise André nominated for Best Film and Best Director, Best New Actress, Best Cinematography
  • ADVANTAGES OF TRAVELLING BY TRAIN by Aritz Moreno, producer: EAVE graduate Merry Colomer for New Director, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Art Direction
  • ADIOS by Paco Cabezas, producer: EAVE graduate Olmo Figueredo González-Quevedo nominated for Best Supporting Actress, Best New Actress
  • BORDER by Ali Abbasi, producer: EAVE graduate Nina Bisgaard nominated for Best European Film
  • MONOS by Alejandro Landes, producer: PUENTES group leader Fernando Epstein nominated for Best Latin American Film

Austrian Film Awards

  • EARTH by Nikolaus Geyrhalter, producer: EAVE graduate Michael Kitzberger
  • GEHÖRT, GESEHEN by Jakob Brossmann und David Paede, producer: EAVE graduate Michael Kitzberger
  • GIPSY QUEEN by Hüseyin Tabak, producer: EAVE graduate Danny Krausz
  • JOY by Sudabeh Mortezai, producer: EAVE graduate EAVE graduate Oliver Neumann
  • MOVEMENTS BY A NEARBY MOUNTAIN by Sebastian Brameshuber, producer: EAVE graduate David Bohun

Producers Guild of America Award

  • COSMOS WITHIN US by Tupac Martir, producer: EAVE graduate Marion Guth

Page published 20 December 2019. Updated 21 December 2019.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away on March 3. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2020 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Web design by MID