2 Directors Guild of America Awards nominations for EAVE producers

Nominations January 2024

American Academy Awards – the Oscars

We are proud to announce 13 Oscar nominations for EAVE graduates in 2024:

  • POOR THINGS by Yorgos Lanthimos, producer: EAVE graduate Ed Guiney is nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Production Design, Best Makeup and Hairstyling, Best Costume Design, Best Original Score
  • THE ETERNAL MEMORY directed and produced by PUENTES graduate Maite Alberdi vies for Best Documentary
  • ROBOT DREAMS by Pablo Berger, producer: EAVE graduate Alejandro Arenas competes for Best Animated Feature

The award ceremony will take place on March 12, 2024.


European Women’s Audiovisual Network

The European Women’s Audiovisual Network (EWA) has announced the eight producers selected to take part in its Series Accelerator programme. The initiative, backed by Netflix’s Fund for Creative Equity, aims “to bring together emerging or mid-career European women film producers who want to deepen their understanding of the series production landscape”. EAVE graduate Anamaria Antoci, executive director of EWA, said: “After a decade-long commitment to empowering women in film, this is our first programme focusing on the European series production landscape. We received applications from 27 European countries and could see the breadth of compelling narratives that women across the region can offer.

Four of the eight selected producers and their production companies are EAVE graduates:

  • EAVE graduate Stelana Kliris - Meraki Films | Cyprus
  • EAVE graduate Maja Popovic Milojevic - Sense Production | Serbia
  • EAVE participant Ioana Lascar - DeFilm | Romania
  • EAVE graduate Géraldine Ohana - Nekeva | France


Directors Guild of America Awards

  • POOR THINGS by Yorgos Lanthimos, producer: EAVE graduate Ed Guiney is nominated for Outstanding Directorial Achievement at the Directors Guild of America Awards.
  • CHILE ’67 by Manuela Martelli, producer: EAVE on Demand graduate Dominga Sotomayor is nominated for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Theatrical Feature Film.

Page published 31 January 2024.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away in 2016. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2024 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the MEDIA sub-programme of Creative Europe. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.
Web design by MID

Please indicate your consent to our use of performance cookies

Some cookies are required for our site to function. Optional cookies are used for measuring site performance with Google Analytics. Visit our privacy and legal page to find out more, and manage your consent at any time.