15 awards for EAVE producers in Cannes!

Awards May 2023

Cannes Film Festival

Big success for EAVE graduates at the Cannes Film Festival: 15 awards in total!

Competition awards

  • ABOUT DRY GRASSES by Nuri Bilge Ceylan, producer: EAVE graduate Jonas Dornbach wins Best Actress
  • FALLEN LEAVES by Aki Kaurismäki, producers: EAVE graduate Misha Jaari, TTB graduate Mark Lwoff wins the Jury Prize
  • INSIDE THE YELLOW COCOON SHELL by Thien An Pham, producer: TTB graduate Jeremy Chua, co-producers: EAVE graduates Marie Dubas, Adria Mones wins the Camera d’Or

Un Certain Regard

  • HOW TO HAVE SEX by Molla Manning Walker, producer: EAVE graduate Konstantinos Kontrovrakis, executive producer: EAVE+ graduate Giorgos Karnavas wins the Un Certain Regard Prize
  • OMEN by Baloji, producers: EAVE graduates Benoit Roland, Ellen de Waele wins the New Voice Prize
  • GOODBYE JULIA by Mohamed Kordofani, co-producer: EAVE graduate Ingrid Lill Hogtun wins the Freedom Prize
  • THE BURITI FLOWER by João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora,producer: EAVE participant Julia Alves wins the Ensemble Prize
  • EAVE Marketing Workshop project THE SETTLERS by Felipe Galvez, producer: EAVE, PUENTES, MW and EAVE+ graduate Giancarlo Nasi, PUENTES graduates Benjamín Domenech, Santiago Gallelli, TTB graduate Stefano Centini, co-producers: EAVE graduates Katrin Pors, Ingmar Trost, TTB graduate Mikkel Jersin wins the FIPRESCI prize

Cannes Critics’ Week

  • TTB project TIGER STRIPES by Amanda Nell, co-producers: TTB graduate Foo Fei Ling, EAVE and TTB graduates Fran Borgia and Yulia Evina Bhara, EAVE graduate, TTB group leader and German National Coordinator Jonas Weydemann, EAVE graduate Ellen Havenith scooped the Grand Prize
  • LOST COUNTRY by Vladimir Perisic, producers: EAVE graduates Vincent Quenault, Janja Kralj, EAVE graduate, group leader and Croatian National Coordinator Ankica Juric Tilic won the Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award
  • INSHALLAH A BOY by Amjad Al Rasheed, producer: EAVE graduate Rula Nasser won the Gan Foundation Award for Distribution

Directors' Fortnight

  • CREATURA by Elena Martín Gimeno, producer: EAVE graduate and Spanish National Coordinator Maria Zamora, EAVE participant Ariadna Dot, sales: Luxbox wins the Europa Cinemas Label Award

CICAE's Arthouse Cinema Award

  • La CHIMERA by Alice Rohrwacher, producer: EAVE+ graduate Carlo Cresto-Dina, wins the CICAE Art House Cinema Award
  • FALLEN LEAVES by Aki Kaurismäki, producers: EAVE graduate Misha Jaari, TTB graduate Mark Lwoff receives a Special Mention

Prix Pierre Chevalier

  • CHIEN DE LA CASSE by Jean-Baptiste Durand, producer: EAVE graduate Anaïs Bertrand won the first Prix Pierre Chevalier handed out by ARTE at the Cannes Film Festival.


German Lola Awards

2 awards for EAVE graduates at the German Lola Awards:

  • HOLY SPIDER by Ali Abbasi, co-producer: PUENTES graduate Fred Burle won the Bronze Lola
  • SISI & I by Frauke Finsterwalder, producer: EAVE President Danny Krausz was awarded Best Costumes


goEast – Festival of Central and Eastern European Film in Wiesbaden

2 awards for EAVE graduates at the 23rd edition of goEast – Festival of Central and Eastern European Film in Wiesbaden:

  • REMEMBER TO BLINK by Austeja Urbaite, producer: EAVE graduate Zivile Gallego won the Golden Lily for Best Film and FIPRESCI Award for Fiction Feature.
  • THIS IS WHAT I REMEMBER by Aktan Arym Kubat, producers: EAVE graduates Denis Vaslin, Fleur Knopperts won the Special Mention of the International Jury


Romanian Film Awards

9 awards including Best Film for EAVE graduates at the Gopos, the Romanian Film Awards:

  • MEN OF DEEDS by Paul Negoescu, producer: EAVE graduate Anamaria Antoci scooped Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Supporting Actor, Best Editing.
  • OCCASIONAL SPIES by Oana Giurgiu, producers: EAVE graduates Tudor Giurgiu, Bogdan Craciun won Best Documentary and Best Sound
  • THE ISLAND Anca Damian, co-producer: EAVE graduate Tomas Leyers won Best Score
  • IMMACULATE Monica Stan, George Chiper-Lillemark, producer: EAVE graduate Marcian Lazar was awarded Best First Feature


Crossing Europe Film Festival Linz

  • Audience Award for SAFE PLACE by Juraj Lerotic, producers: EAVE graduates Miljenka Cogelja, Vlado Bulajic at Austria’s Crossing Europe.
  • BEAUTIFUL BEINGS by Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson, EAVE graduate Anton Mani Svansson won the MIOB New Vision Award.
  • DISCO BOY by Giacomo Abbruzzese, co-producer: EAVE graduate Maria Blicharska received a Special Mention in the Fiction Competition.


Cyprus Film Days International Film Festival

  • MEDITERRANEAN FEVER by Maha Haj, producer: EAVE graduate Marios Piperides won the Authorwave Award at the Cyprus Film Days International Film Festival.
  • AVAILABLE NOW by Assaf Machnes, producer: EAVE graduate Kobi Mizrahi won the Best Debut Project Pitch Award.


DOK.fest Munich

  • EAVE project NON-ALIGNED: SCENES FROM THE LABUDOVIC REELS by Mila Turajlic, producer: EAVE graduate Carine Chichkowsky won the DOK.edit Award at the International Documentary Film Festival Munich.


David di Donatello Awards

  • THE EIGHT MOUNTAINS by Charlotte Vandermeersch, Felix Van Groeningen, producer: EAVE graduate Hans Everaert won four awards at the Italian Premi David di Donatello.The film was awarded Best Film, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Photography and Best Sound.


Platino Awards for Ibero-American Film

  • 1976 by Manuela Martelli, producer: EAVE graduate Dominga Sotomayor won Best First Film at the Platino Awards for Ibero-American Film.


Irish Film & Television Awards

  • NOTHING COMPARES by Kathryn Ferguson, executive producer: EAVE graduate Lesley McKimm won the George Morrison Feature Documentary Award at the Irish Film & Television Awards (IFTA) in Dublin.


Beldocs International Documentary Film Festival

2 awards for EAVE graduate at the Beldocs International Documentary Film Festival:

  • SMOKE SAUNA SISTERHOOD by Anna Hints, producer: Marianne Ostrat won the Eurimages Audentia Award
  • AND THE KING SAID, WHAT A FANTASTIC MACHINE by Axel Danielson, Maximilien Van Aertryck, producer: EAVE graduate Rikke Tambo Andersen won the Beldocs Teen Award.

Page published 30 May 2023. Updated 6 September 2023.

Donate to the EAVE Alan Fountain International Scholarship Fund

A scholarship has been set up to honour the memory of Alan Fountain, former Head of Studies and President of EAVE, who passed away in 2016. Its goal is to enable one producer from outside the EU to participate in all three sessions of the EAVE Producers Workshop each year.

Find out more...

© 2024 EAVE. By using this site you accept our terms of use, including our use of cookies. Please see our privacy policy.
Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the MEDIA sub-programme of Creative Europe. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.
Web design by MID

Please indicate your consent to our use of performance cookies

Some cookies are required for our site to function. Optional cookies are used for measuring site performance with Google Analytics. Visit our privacy and legal page to find out more, and manage your consent at any time.